Cuppa and a Catch-Up – An Author Interview with … Kristina Gause Stutts

WEDNESDAY 22nd APRIL 2015

Cuppa and a Catch up pic

Today, I would like to wish a warm welcome to the lovely Kristina Gause Stutts, author to Amethyst Chronicles: Winter’s Kiss, the first book in a Sci-fi romance series.

~Author Bio~

K.G. Stutts is the author three sci-fi romance series as well as several romance stories. She has a degree in massageKristen author photo therapy. As a contributor to Independent Writers Association (IWA) her insights can be seen regularly there and on her own blog at kgstutts.blogspot.com and her website at kgstutts.webs.com

When she’s not weaving words, she enjoys reading, playing RPGs, hockey, wrestling, and football, and is a big sci-fi nerd. Currently she resides in North Carolina, USA with her husband, Brad.

~Synopsis~

Amethyst is a secret team of genetically enhanced humans which is Earth’s greatest defensive weapon. Leading the team of super soldiers is Ember Wilson, a tough woman with a huge chip on her shoulder. The team gets
their name from the after effect of the Genesis Project which turned their eyes and even their blood purple.

amethyst pictureFor decades, Earth has been ravaged by unpredictable weather which began to cause crops to fail. Most of the planet’s food sources have deteriorated. Dr. Clayton Rudo has proclaimed he has the means to save the soil. He has created a weather machine to regulate and help replenish. But Ember knew the truth. He didn’t want to save the planet. He wanted to control it. Amethyst destroyed the machine, but was placed in stasis. Two years later, Rudo recreated the device and has frozen Washington, DC.

General Tom Blanchard brought Amethyst out of stasis to work with an elite Air Force team, led by Major Liam Ross. Tensions between Ember and Liam rise as they butt heads. Can they work together before Earth is completely under ice?

Grab that cuppa and get settled as we catch up with Kristina Gause Stutts … 

coffee and cream

 

Hi Kristina and welcome! It’s great to have you here.

Thank you so much for having me!

Where did you get the inspiration behind this novel?

I’m a big fan of Joss Whedon. He writes these incredible, tough, kick-butt women. I wanted to develop a character worthy of that. A woman who can fight as fiercely as she can love. Someone that readers can look up to, inspire to be, and root for. And then came Ember Wilson.

How would you compare writing this book with anything that you have written previously?

Oh, gosh. The Amethyst Chronicles is a bit different than my other books. It’s definitely less science-y than my Mirror series and more action. But I keep the humor and both series are very character driven.   

How did you start writing? Was there a particular book or moment in your life that spurned you on?

I started writing in high school. Started off with little songs and poems. I began to write fan fictions and plots, but it didn’t reallyMirror Image go anywhere for a long time. I started to have a dream a couple of years ago about a woman who found out she’s actually a clone. I went to bed every night hoping to pick up where I left off and I got really excited. So I started writing it out and that became my first novel, Mirror Image. It’s getting ready to celebrate its first anniversary published.

How do you organise your writing time?

I work in a call center so often times I’ll write in between calls. I always have a notebook with me so I can jot things down when I can. Sundays are a big writing day for me, but I do try to write every day.

Where is your best ‘writing space’; the place where you feel comfortably locked away from the world and able to let your creative juices flow?

Sometimes it’s just sitting down with a pen and a notebook and write. I don’t have a set place really. Life is too busy to schedule things like that.

And finally, tell us an interesting fact about yourself that not many people know.

I used to referee independent wrestling matches on the weekends. Had to stop after a back injury. I’m still at CWF Mid-Atlantic. It’s definitely a passion of mine that I miss, but maybe one day I’ll get in the ring again.

Thank you for being here today Kristina.

Thank you for having me!

~Where to find Kristina~

amethyst picture
Love Missuswolf xxx
Leave a Reply

