Cuppa and a Catch-up – An Author Interview with … Katie Gallagher

WEDNESDAY 08th APRIL 2015

Cuppa and a Catch up pic

I would like to welcome back the lovely Katie Gallagher, who releases ‘Forever Love’ the sequel to ‘Stealing Cynderella’ this month.

Katie Gallagher mage~Author Bio~

Katie Gallagher is the author of the young adult novel, Catching You and Stealing Cynderella. She lives in Western PA with her husband and young daughter who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and lack of cooking skills. She loves coffee, flip flops and hates cold weather.

~Synopsis~forever-love-bk-2-flat

Cyn Clark never believed in such a thing as fate, but not soon after starting classes, and beginning a  new life away from her parents, she meets James Lucas. She’d never been very good at relationships, but James is different. The two of them quickly fall in love . As soon, as Cyn finally gets used to college life, and is comfortable with James, life throws them a curveball. Now, they are both hiding secrets, that if they don’t come out, the relationship won’t survive.

Now grab that cuppa and get comfy as we catch-up with Katie Gallagher …

coffee and cream

Hi Katie and welcome back! It’s great to have you here.

Stealing Cynderella ImageForever Love is a sequel – did you have an idea in mind for this when you were writing Stealing Cynderella?

I originally wrote this as one book, but right before I got the go ahead from my publisher, I found out that I was pregnant, so I asked if I would  be able to split into two different books, since I didn’t have the energy to do a full book at that time. Now, I’m in the process of writing a third and fourth novel with these characters, but that’s a conversation for another day.

How would you compare writing this book with anything that you have written previously?

The inspiration for this novel came from a real life experience of mine, but I changed names to protect the innocent. It was written before my first novel was published, but I didn’t feel confident to publish it, so I decided to write something else which became my first novel. Now, almost seven years later, I feel better about this novel, so I’ve decided to publish it. I feel good about this novel after my editors glowing compliments about the storyline throughout the whole writing/editing process.

The last time we spoke, you had a five month old and did the bulk of you’re writing in between her naps. How did you organise your writing time for Forever Love?

Not much has changed. Now she’s sixteen months old and the only time that I get to sit down at the computer and write is when she’s in bed. I usually worked on Forever from 7pm-10pm before heading to bed, so that I could get some sleep for the day job the next day unless it was my day off, then I’d stay up a little bit later to write.

 As a reader, what can we expect from Forever Love?forever-love-bk-2-flat

I don’t want to give away any spoilers for readers that haven’t read the first novel, so I’m just going to paste the back cover copy here.

Cyn Clark never believed in such a thing as fate, but not soon after starting classes, and beginning a  new life away from her parents, she meets James Lucas. She’d never been very good at relationships, but James is different. The two of them quickly fall in love . As soon, as Cyn finally gets used to college life, and is comfortable with James, life throws them a curveball. Now, they are both hiding secrets, that if they don’t come out, the relationship won’t survive.

And finally, if you could be another character for the day – who would you be?

I’d have to pick Joey Potter, played by Katie Holmes, from Dawsons Creek. She’s torn between two guys, but  despite that, she doesn’t let love rule her and still lives her own life and pursues her dreams and doesn’t follow the guy around like a lost puppy. She’s a strong woman and I was able to relate to her through all six seasons of the television show. I wish that I could write a character like her in one of my novels. 

Thank you for being here today Katie.

~Where to find Katie Gallagher~

Twitter: @Katie_Gallgher

Facebook

Amazon

Blog

forever-love-bk-2-flat

Forever Love

Out April 10th 2015

Love Missuswolf xxx

Leave a Reply

