The Golfer and The Writer: A Trip to Anstruthers, Center Parcs and a Lee Child’s novel

SUNDAY 12th OCTOBER 2014

St. Andrews Golf Course

St. Andrews Golf Course

Today is my last day of annual leave sob! After fifteen days off from the real world, I’m back to the day job tomorrow. The last two weeks have been very family orientated; the first week was a holiday to Anstruthers with the in-laws, followed by a week at Center Parcs with my family.

Lt Waters

Damian Lewis at the driving range at Carnoustie

On Sunday 28th September, the hubby and I packed up the car and made the three and a half hour trip to Anstruthers in Scotland, where we joined some close family and stayed at the gorgeous Cairnhill cottage. Anstruthers is an old fashioned fishing village along the Fife coast, located south of St Andrews. It boasts welcoming pubs, an amazing Indian restaurant, quirky little shops and fantastic fish and chips.

The holiday was centred around watching a couple of days of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship golf. We spent the Thursday at St. Andrews Golf Course, where the hubby managed to see some professional golfers and I got to swoon at celebs like Jamie Redknapp and Michael Vaughan.

On the Friday, we visited Carnoustie golf course. We had been very fortunate weather-wise until this day, waking up to heavy rain and blustery winds so I (rather excitedly) put on my waterproofs. Feeling like I was a human duvet all snug and warm against the slanted rain, I was content to celeb-spot with the likes of Hugh Grant (who I just adore! It took me all my might to stop shouting ‘I loved you in Bridget Jones – and Love Actually!), Greg Kinnear (Friends/You’ve Got Mail), Kyle Machlachlan of Desperate Housewives fame, Damian Lewis of Homeland and Band of Brothers aswell as the number one golfer himself – Rory McIlroy.

Rory McIlroy at Carnoustie

Rory McIlroy at Carnoustie

During the stay at Cairnhill, there was the opportunity to really relax as the hubby watched the Ryder Cup and played golf with our future brother-in-law and my father-in-law. On that particular Ryder Cup Sunday, I picked up a copy of Lee Child’s ‘Worth Dying For’ from a shelf in the cottage. I sat out on the patio in the glorious late September sunshine with endless cups of tea and found that I couldn’t put this book down!

I read it in two days.

It’s my first Lee Child’s book – and won’t be my last.

He has an incredible way of writing factual information into the storyline and characters without you even realising it.  I love the structure of the story in this book; a lone guy who is hitch-hiking his way to Virginia, stops at a motel in rural Nebraska. What trouble could he possibly get caught up in from overhearing a drunken doctor’s phone call in a bar?

lee childIt’s a fast paced novel filled with suspense – definitely one of those ‘just one more chapter’ books. Jack Reacher manages to get caught up in a web of criminal activity as a result of the decision he makes that night in the bar. Who knew that accompanying the doctor to tend to a female victim of domestic violence would lead to solving a historic crime?

He could have just gone to bed and continued hitch-hiking the next day.

But that would make for a very boring story indeed.

Another feature I loved was how Lee Child doesn’t use the doctor (or his wife’s) name in the book, referring to them as ‘the doctor’ and ‘the doctor’s wife.’ By leaving them nameless it established the importance of their roles in the story.

sunset walk

Sunset walk to the pub in Anstruthers

An absolute must-read.

nephew nicec

My three little munchkins

The latter part of our holiday was spent in Sherwood Forrest Center Parcs with my dad and his partner, my two sisters, another future brother-in-law, my two nieces and nephew. It was amazing spending time as a family doing activities with the kids. This is the fourth time I’ve been to a Center Parcs; all other three occasions were at the Whinfell Forrest, two were for hen do’s and the other for my father-in-law’s sixtieth birthday. As they were all quite grown up events, it was great to see Center Parcs from the family perspective. We went swimming, walking, played on the park, visited the soft play (which was right next to the sports bar so incredibly handy!) did pottery painting and managed to squeeze in some bowling. There’s still so much more to do so we’ve vowed to make it an annual event.

 

Thanks for reading and have a great Sunday evening.

 

Love Missuswolf xxx

 

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] 198 pages into this book at the moment. I loved the last Lee Child book that I read (Worth Dying For) so when I inherited this book from the Harvey’s, it was a must. Although it’s not as […]

Leave a Reply

