Book A Day Challenge UK: Day 22 – Out of Print – Point Horror Books

SUNDAY 22nd JUNE 2014

Today’s #BookADayUK  is out of print.

The Point Horror Books.

Point Horror

 

These were a must-read as a teen – a mild introduction to the horror genre.

Exquisitely American in their context, the books not only tell a tale of horror,  they represent the anxieties and difficulty of being a teen in general.

Although the books went out of print in 2005, word (and by that I mean Wikipedia) has it that Scholastic printed a couple of books in 2013 and 2014.

These could be added to my October Halloween themed reading list.

Oh yes, I do like a seasonal reading list …

Love Missuswolf xxx

Comments

  1. Yes I like ‘connections’ too-seasonal ones (I’ve already earmarked one for winter) and also books that relate to places I visit. I read a Nikos Kazantzakis one when I went to Crete, a George Mackey Brown when in Orkney. I started off with horror too-as a young teen I devoured all of James Herbert’s nooks, which then led to Stephen King…which then led to….:)

    • Hi Andy,
      I haven’t read James Herbert’s books – I will add them to my list. Do you have a favourite? I’m currently reading Stephen King’s Four Past Midnight.
      Gemma

      • Hi Gemma, I did a post way back when I first began blogging, think it was called ‘R.I.P James Herbert and The Death Of Childhood’. Something dramatic like that 🙂 It was about how my school teacher was a little concerned when my classmates were reading Roald Dhal and I was reading Herbert. I also said how Herbert was a stepping stone to Stephen King for me, which is a little disingenuous.
        His books became more supernatural thriller(ish) as he got older, where I preferred his earlier pure horror books. I suppose I would say his Rats trilogy-Rats, The Lair, Domain. The first two particularly are quite short and gratuitous-The Rats was his big break. Then followed The Fog.
        My favourite Stephen King books are Salem’s Lot and It. He has quite a back catalogue to get through 🙂

      • Wow thanks for the recommendations. I will read your blog post and start writing my ‘to-read’ list of James Herbert. I’ve always enjoyed horror’s and thriller’s – starting with the mild childhood versions such as Point Horror and even Goosebumps. Then I lazily lapsed into Chick-Lit for years. Don’t get me wrong, I still go back to Chick-Lit – but I’ve opened my mind in the last three years and welcomed in the likes of Stephen King. So I’m always on the look out for different books and styles to read. Thanks again and I will get to work at that list 🙂

    • No problem-it’s always cool to talk books 🙂
      At the moment I am reading a book of short stories by John Ajvide Lindqvist called Let The Old Dreams Die. He is sometimes called the Swedish Stephen King.
      I loved his first book called Let The Right One In. Have you read that? About the young, bullied boy who becomes friends with a girl who moves in next door. Nice girl, bit odd, vampire 🙂
      They made it into a movie in Swedish, and also an English language version was made. I got this short story collection, then read that characters from his first two books feature in some of the stories, so I went back and re-read Let The Right One In, then read his second book Handling The Undead. After the one I’m reading now, I’m going to give his next one The Harbour a go. I like to work through them chronologically. Yes, I have no life. 🙂
      But do try that one if you’ve not read it-Let The Right One In.

Leave a Reply

