What I’ve Been Reading … Stuart MacBride – Dark Blood

 

 

FRIDAY 06th JUNE 2014

Last week, I finished reading my first ever Stuart MacBride novel Dark Blood.

Stuart MacBride

In my true chaotic reading style, that flits from genre to genre with no chronological order, my first book just so happened to be sixth out of ten in the Logan McRae series. Why change a habit I continually commit with James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell?

However, that was no issue.

At not one point in the novel did I think ‘hmmm, maybe I should have read the previous five books first.’ To be honest, I was not aware of such a fact until I came to research the author to write this blog post.

I guess what I’m saying is that it’s a credit to the author to write a book in the middle of a series; for a reader to pick it up and not be penalised for having missed the previous books. I would happily dip into the others (and probably not in the right order either).

I like to have variety with my reading.

Researching books to read of all genre's - all of these are on my to read list at some point.

Researching books to read of all genre’s – all of these are on my to read list at some point.

Here’s a little synopsis of Dark Blood:

Everyone deserves a second chance…

Richard Knox has served his time, so why shouldn’t he be allowed to live wherever he wants? Yes, he was convicted of the brutal rape and abduction of a sixty-eight-year-old man, but he’s seen the error of his ways. Found God. Wants to leave his dark past in Newcastle and make a new start.

Or so he says.

Detective Sergeant Logan McRae isn’t exactly thrilled to be part of the team helping Knox settle into his new Aberdeen home. He’s even less thrilled to be stuck with DSI Danby from Northumbria Police – the man who put Knox behind bars for ten years – supposedly here to ‘keep an eye on things’.

Only things are about to go very, very wrong.

Donald Trump’s golf course is bringing a mini development boom to the Granite City, and Edinburgh gangster Malk the Knife wants a slice. Three heavies from Newcastle want a ‘quiet word’ with DSI Danby about a missing mob accountant. Local crime lord Wee Hamish Mowat has plans for Logan’s future. And Knox’s dark past isn’t done with him yet…

Not for the faint-hearted eh? I have my job to blame for that thick skin.

The book did take me a while to read; nearing 500 pages and reading it alongside two other books (The Accident and The Storied Life of AJ Fikry – but they’re for other blog post’s) as well as the general routine of going to work and running a house, it took a couple of months. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy the book.

Despite it being wickedly disturbing, MacBride has a way with words that roll off his tongue. They are short, but precise. They conjure up just the right image before you’ve even processed what he’s written.

A perfect example is in Chapter 25, page 219 – a wonderful description of a male’s toilet ‘Tile’s shiny off poor targeting’ ‘eye-biting nip of urine.’ I can almost taste the smell. Gag.

Image from the Stuart MacBride Website

Image from the Stuart MacBride Website

So, if you’re into Crime Thriller’s and adore fantastic prose – oh and a good storyline – read Dark Blood. Mr MacBride can wrap your emotions around his finger and, dare I say it, I almost felt sorry for the ghastly Richard Knox. Almost.

Love Missuswolf xxx

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

