Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston

WEDNESDAY 06th MARCH 2013

Cuppa and a Catch up pic

I would like to wish a warm welcome to the lovely Helen Elliston, who has just released her fourth book in January Played By You.Helen

~Author Bio~

I live in the UK, run a small online pet art business, write romantic thrillers, and am about to add carer and nanny to my list of roles.  I’m a dog mum to two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, a vegetarian, always try to see the silver lining in life, and love curling up with a good book or a good film on an evening.

 

~Synopsis~
Played By You“It was near impossible to wrap my mind around Taylor having done this after the chemistry we’d shared last night. But then chemistry, as I’d learned back home, is merely a glitzy emotion that ebbs and flows and is not a
guarantee of loyalty.”

FLY INTO THE WORLD OF spirited twenty-two year old Misty as she goes all out to protect her sister, gets irresistibly drawn into the passionate fire of a mysterious colleague, and entangled in a deception she is yet to unravel during a spellbinding short business trip to glitzy Singapore.

WHILE MISTY is played from all sides, experience some delights of the sunny, cultural fusion-pot before discovering that LUCK, HOPE and that thing we chase… LOVE… is only ever around the corner – sometimes we just need help to not miss the turn.

~~
A NOVELLA
WARNING: contains some strong
language & sexual scenes.
Romantic thriller – 28,000 words, 14
chapters
~~

Get cosy with that cuppa as we meet such an amazing lady…

Hi Helen and welcome! It’s great to have you here and congratulations on publishing your fourth book!

Where did the inspiration behind Played By You come from?

I’ve been lucky enough to visit Singapore several times and could not resist using this as a setting for one of my books as it’s such a fabulous place.  The story itself developed as I wrote.  I knew it would be a business trip in order to have Singapore as the setting, and I knew this one would be a con/swindle rather than a murder etc… but that was all I had outlined when I began.  Only after writing the first chapter (which of course changed) did the story and characters start to take shape.

How would you compare writing this book with writing your previous books; Think Fast Die Last, Tick Tock think fast die lastRun and Shiver Sweet?

This book was easier to edit due to it being a novella, so I could do read throughs all in one sitting.  I would also say it was a morsel easier to write because I am a bit more experienced due to it being my fourth book.  However it was also harder to write because we had a bombshell dropped on our family while I was writing it, but I guess that also made me more determined to finish it and make it the best read I possibly could.

How did you start writing? Was there a particular book or moment in your life that spurred you on?

Tick tock runI started writing in 2007 (perhaps a little earlier)  I love a good story in books and films; thrillers, romance, lots of tension… and I guess that is what spurred me on.  Writing was really just a hobby at first, another creative outlet, but I soon got addicted and absolutely thrive on it now.   I never expected that it would consume me, my brain and time to this extent, or that years later I’d have four books released.

I see that you are an artist as well as an author – congratulations! You have some beautiful pieces. How do you organise your time between writing and drawing?

Both writing and painting are very time consuming, but I am lucky that I enjoy both, it just means that I have long days and working from home means you never really leave work.  I enjoy swinging between the two and using different skill sets and different types of creativity.

Where is your best ‘writing space’; the place where you feel comfortably locked away from the world and able to let your creative juices flow?Shiver Sweet

Wow.  That’s a straight forward question with a complicated answer.  Just this weekend I made the heart-wrenching decision to leave my life in Yorkshire to move down to Devon to support my sister (who sadly has a malignant brain tumour diagnosed sep 2012) and to support her husband and my gorgeous nearly 2 yr old niece.  So life is very chaotic and tough at the moment.  My writing space is at present anywhere my computer is… with my two dogs sat at my feet!  And to be honest, over the coming months of my sister’s radiotherapy writing is going to be my escape (should I have time to do any work on book 5) – but I love it so it is a welcome escape!

A fab idea - book cover on heels! One of Helen's many talents.

A fab idea – book cover on heels! One of Helen’s many talents.

And finally, tell us an interesting fact about yourself that not many people know

I’ve been a vegetarian since I was ten years old because I couldn’t bear the thought of eating animals, especially seeing as I had pets. I’m scared of spiders, and so September in the UK is not a good month for me.  Ummm… what else?  Oh, and I struggle to walk in high heels, (don’t know why but I wobble and my feet ache in them) so I can only admire with green eyes all the lovely shoes in shops and on people’s feet.

 

 

Thank you for being here today Helen.

Another pair of 'book-shoes' amazing artwork by Helen

Another pair of ‘book-shoes’ amazing artwork by Helen

Thank you so much for having me, Gemma!!  I really appreciate it, and wish you all the luck in the world with your own books!

 

~Where to find H.C Elliston~

Twitter @HCElliston

Website http://hcelliston.co.uk

Get your copy of Played By You here

Played By You

 Love Missuswolf xxx

Trackbacks

  1. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] Cuppa and a Catch Up – An Author Interview with….H C Elliston (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

