Christmas Themed Read

TUESDAY 12th FEBRUARY 2013

I know I am a couple of months late (or a fair few months too early depending on which way you look at it) I just wanted to share with you my Christmas themed reads.

In December, I vowed that I would only read books of the festive variety and this is now my new tradition.

Here is what I managed to read to get me in the Festive mood….

LAST CHRISTMAS

Last ChristmasIt’s the most wonderful time of year. Isn’t it? Discover the true spirit of Christmas with this seasonal treat for fans of Love, Actually and The Holiday.

Discover the true spirit of Christmas…

Catherine Tinsall is dreading Christmas. As the ‘Happy Homemaker’ she is an online sensation, but the reality couldn’t be more different. With Catherine’s marriage in tatters, her children running wild and her mother increasingly forgetful, seasonal cheer is running low.

Husband Noel also hides a secret: he’s facing the axe at work. Until he chances upon the village of Hope Christmas, deep in the Shropshire countryside, which could be the second chance he’s searching for. If he can save it from the developers…

In Hope Christmas itself, schoolteacher Marianne Moore is trying to heal her battered heart. But Christmas is a time for families, and memories of what she’s lost haunt her at every turn.

Meanwhile, Gabriel North faces a lonely Christmas but hides his sadness for the sake of his son. Will his wife ever come home? Or does love lie elsewhere?

All four need a Christmas miracle. And it might just happen – courtesy of a mysterious guardian angel … Forced to reassess their lives, will Catherine, Noel, Marianne and Gabriel discover what the meaning of Christmas really is?

An irresistible gift of a tale that will warm the hearts of Christmas-lovers and Scrooges alike…

My thoughts…Enchanting Christmas Story,

December just gone I vowed that I would only read Christmas Stories during that month to really get me in the mood for my favourite time of year. Last Christmas did not disappoint; it was an enchanting tale that flicks between the previous Christmas and the present one, flowing in between the settings of Shropshire, London and Hope Christmas. It was a feel good read that was well written and really got me in the mood for Christmas.

ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS

Twelve days and counting…

It’s Bea’s first Christmas with her baby son, and this year she’s determined to do everything right. But there is still so much to do: the All I Wnat for christmasChristmas menu needs refining; her café, The Honey Pot, needs decorating; and she’s invited the whole neighbourhood to a party on Christmas Day. She really doesn’t have time to get involved in two new people’s lives, let alone fall in love…

When Olivia gets knocked over in the street, however, Bea can’t help bringing her into The Honey Pot and getting to know her. Olivia’s life is even more hectic than her own, and with her fiancé’s entire family over from Ireland for Christmas, she shouldn’t be lingering in the cosy warmth of Bea’s café. Chloe, on the other hand, has nowhere else to go. Her affair with a married man has alienated her friends, and left her lonelier than ever.

But Christmas is a magical time, and in the fragrant atmosphere of The Honey Pot, anything can happen: new friends can be made, hearts can heal, and romance can finally blossom…

My thoughts…

I read this as part of my ‘read only Christmas themed books’ in December agreement I had with myself.
I truly loved this book, especially how it was written in diary format. I related to the character’s straight away and I loved how different they were from each other, yet they were all brought together and fit so perfectly into each other’s lives.
Chloe is the most complex of them with her starting out as a bitch who you really despise (the first meeting Bea has with her I felt my blood boil on Bea’s behalf as she rudely chats on her mobile phone!) But it’s wonderful to watch her character develop and blossom.
The story isn’t all about the joys of Christmas, there is heartache in there that the Author does an excellent job of provoking such emotion from the character to the reader.
I actually read it more or less in time with the counting down of the diary as it starts twelve days before Christmas so it truly added to the experience.
A must read to settle down to on the cold winter nights

A Christmas Carol

A Christmas CarolOne of the best-loved and most quoted stories of “the man who invented Christmas”—English writer Charles Dickens—A Christmas Carol debuted in 1843 and has touched millions of hearts since.

Cruel miser Ebeneezer Scrooge has never met a shilling he doesn’t like…and hardly a man he does. And he hates Christmas most of all. When Scrooge is visited by his old partner, Jacob Marley, and the ghosts of Christmas Past, Christmas Present, and Christmas Yet to Come, he learns eternal lessons of charity, kindness, and goodwill. Experience a true Victorian Christmas

My thoughts…

This was the third book I read in December as part of my Christmas themed reads for that month.
I have seen the film versions (the Disney version was watched year after year when I was younger). As an adult, I really wanted to read this book and it did not disappoint. I have a few Charles Dickens downloaded to my Kindle to explore as we touched upon his writing in my Creative Writing Class.
It is written in such classic English Language which adds the whole Victorian theme and it really is a book that makes you sit back and think, not to take things for granted. Which is a perfect message for that time of year especially.
I will read this every Christmas from now on – it was a pleasant way to round off my reading for not only that month, but for that year.

Love Missuswolf xxx

Leave a Reply

