Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes

SUNDAY 10th FEBRUARY 2013

Big Mug

I would like to wish a warm welcome to the lovely Emerald Barnes, whose recently released her Amazon Bestseller Romantic Thriller ‘Read Me Dead.’

~AUTHOR BIO~

Emerald Barnes graduated with a B.A. in English with an emphasis on Creative Writing at Mississippi University for Women. She resides in aAuthor Pic small town in Mississippi and has the accent to prove it.

She’s the author of two books, mainly writes suspense/thrillers in the YA genre, but she dabbles in other genres and her books are enjoyed by all ages!

She’s constantly working on new novels and has more ideas than she knows what to do with. She blogs at emeraldbarnes.blogspot.com and ebarnes23.wordpress.com which takes up more of her time than she anticipates but loves it so very much! She’s also a volunteer at the World Literary Cafe which is so amazing!

She’s an auntie to two beautiful nieces and two handsome nephews who take up the other half of her time, but she couldn’t imagine spending her time in any other way!

She’s a Whovian, a little bit of a nerd, a reader, a writer, and a family-oriented person. God is number one in her life, and she thanks Him continuously for His love and favor.

~SYNOPSIS~

Read Me Dead:

Read Me Dead CoverAlexia Wheaton’s problems go far beyond picking a dress and a date for the homecoming dance.

For seven years, Alex has lived with a painful memory – the memory of her parents’ horrific murder. As the sole witness, she has kept quiet about the identity of the murderer to protect herself and her family and friends, but when a journalist over hears her secret and writes about it in the local newspaper, Alex is plagued with fear that her parents’ murderer will soon find her – and silence her forever.

Alex is catapulted into a race against time to save her own life and bring her parents’ murderer to justice. She will face many secrets, lies, and betrayals before the truth about their murder is revealed.

Get that cuppa, find a nice cosy spot as we settle down and catch up with the fab Emerald Barnes, Author to Piercing Through the Darkness and her new release Read Me Dead.

Hi Emerald and welcome! It’s great to have you here.

Thanks for hosting me, Gemma!  It’s a pleasure to visit your blog! 

Where did the inspiration behind ‘Read Me Dead’ come from?

The inspiration for Read Me Dead came to me in a dream.  I know it may sound strange, but I had this dream of a girl, running from a murderer at a high school football (American) game.  I incorporated that scene into a novel I had been working on about a young girl who had seen her parents murdered.  From there, Read Me Dead was born.

 How would you compare writing this book with writing your other book, Piercing Through The Darkness?Piercing Through The Darkness

It was definitely different.  For starters, it was a full-length novel, and I was entirely sure I could manage the word count on a full length novel!  But, aside from that, Read Me Dead was a little darker.  Not that Piercing is a light read, but I was in the head of my main character who is suffering from the beginning of this one.  Kandi in Piercing didn’t know she had a reason to suffer until later. The two young women were significantly different.

 How did you start writing? Was there a particular book or moment in your life that spurned you on?

I think that I’ve always wanted to write.  I’ve loved reading since a young age, and I always carried around a notebook and pencil with me.  What did I write?  I honestly don’t remember, but I remember having that on me at all times.  It wasn’t until high school that I really became interesting in writing.

I started writing a novel, that will NEVER see the light of day, but that is exactly what spurred my writing attraction.  I began writing more and more and fell in love with it.  Now, I can’t imagine doing ANYTHING other than writing.

But, there was this time in high school, in my tenth grade English class that I can remember clearly.  My teacher made us write in a journal, mostly my journal entries included a crush on a senior and talking about high school nonsense; however, I loved the feel of writing.  Not to mention, my teacher, she loved the written word!  Her enthusiasm spread to me, and I honestly believe that is why I love writing and reading so much.

I too had an English Teacher whose enthusiasm spread to me too! It really does encourage you to believe in yourself. You are Author to two blogs, a volunteer for the World Literary Café – how do you organise your writing time?

To be honest, that’s still something I’m working on.  I don’t have very good organizational skills, and I’m a super procrastinator.  (I think that’s my superhero name.)

I just wake up and start working.  But, I do take the time to do what I need to around the house, spend time with my nieces and nephews, and find time to go out on the weekends with my best friend.  I’m not sure how I do it; I just do.  I think it starts with making mental notes in my head about what I HAVE to do.  I get those done and see where I can go from there.  I’ve learned that not everything has to be done on a strict schedule.

 Where is your best ‘writing space’; the place where you feel comfortably locked away from the world and able to let your creative juices flow?

I don’t have a special place.  In fact, I sit in my recliner surrounded by my wild and crazy family with the TV going nonstop.  I feel weird when I’m alone and by myself.  I actually work better surrounded by my nieces and nephews and their yells for Auntie Em’s attention.

 And finally, tell us an interesting fact about yourself that not many people know.

Well, I’ve been told that I have a nice singing voice.  Personally, I’m not sure about that, because I hate the sound of my own voice.  But there it is! 🙂

Thank you for being here today Emerald.

 Thanks again for hosting me, Gemma! 

Connect with Emerald Online:

Read Me Dead

https://ganxy.com/i/73581

Piercing Through the Darkness

https://ganxy.com/i/73578

Website

Blog

Inspiration Blog

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

Google +

Amazon Author Page

Piercing Through the Darkness Trailer

Read Me Dead Trailer

Read Me Dead Cover

Love Missuswolf xxx

Comments

  1. Dear Gemma and Emerald,

    I loved this interview. Wow, this was so amazing. I really enjoyed both your novels Emerald and I love how you shared about how they both came about. I also love how your English teacher inspire you and I am sure you have a lovely singing voice. Thanks for sharing on where you go when you write. Loved the interview ladies, great questions Gemma!

    Syl Stein

Trackbacks

  1. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  6. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  8. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

  9. […] Cuppa and a Catchup – An Author Interview With…Emerald Barnes (missuswolf.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

