Reader Appreciation Award

TUESDAY 23rd OCTOBER 2012

 

I have been nominated by the fabulous Gina Adams over at The Life I Live …So You Don’t Have To who is currently running a Spooky Spectacular Halloween Themed Blog during the month of October. Hop on over there to get your daily fix of fright argh!

This is how the Award works:

* I have to nominate 10-15 blogs that I love to read (or just the one’s I read the most) and give them this award.

* 10 questions were given to me to answer from Gina and then I am to ask alternate questions to those I nominate.

Here we go!

Who is your favorite author, and why?

My all round favourite is Marian Keyes. She is such a clever writer; her books are full of humour and are so easy to read, yet they always have a serious topic that does reel you in and make you think. She tackles what are sensitive and sometimes tragic circumstances in such a way that you not only cry tears of sorrow, you cry tears of joy through some of the humourous encounters her character’s go through. Her novels are always well balanced.

What is one book that you would recommend to someone else, and why?

The Hunger Games. It’s the first in a trilogy but it is the one book that really captured me and will always stand out. The concept of the story really opened my mind – the fight for survival as a child as part of an annual ritual you have no control over. I was absorbed completely in the story, feeling those overwhelming emotions that the characters do of  anxiety, panic, feeling threatened and the fight to survive. It is so well written and I read it in just over a day. That’s a sign of a great writer; someone who captures your imagination so much and intrigues you to the point you can’t put the book down. 

What is your favorite movie, and why?

Hmmm I struggled with this but I would have to say Bridesmaids  – I laughed from start to finish at that film and I love humour. Plus, I really fancy the cop in it.

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Beautiful Santa Barbara Harbour

Santa Barbara. I stayed there as part of our honeymoon trip to the West Coast of America and I loved it. It was idyllic; the pier where we would have breakfast in the morning and watch the dolphins swim by, the lovely harbour we walked around, the zoo, the shops,the restaurants – just everything was perfect! The laid back lifestyle suited me and if my writing career ever took off I would love to retire there 😉

If you could have dinner with anyone (dead or alive) who would it be, and why?

Audrey Hepburn, she’s such a glamourpuss and it would be fascinating to get some tips.  

If today was the last day of your life, how would you choose to spend it?

How I spent it last Tuesday night; at my mum and dad’s house with my two sisters and their partners, the ‘rents, my hubby and my brand new squishy nephew who was brought home from hospital that night following his grand entrance to the world. Accompanied- with Asda Pizza’s, bottles of cava watching Celebrity Juice. Bliss.

If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Not to be so conscious of what people think all the time and to relax.

What impact do you want to leave on the world?

I would love for the imprint of my imagination to be visualised by generations to come. Especially for my family, so that they can be proud of the work that I do and for it to be passed on. I’m hoping that my determination will show them to reach for your dreams no matter how far away they feel they may be. You are only here once so make the most of it. 

What is one fear that is holding you back?

That no-one will like (or read!) what I write. Daft really, but when I write I feel like I’m baring my soul and opening people to the inner workings of my mind and it’s the fear of rejection. But I have learned some useful advice along my little journey so far and that is to always write what you want to write – not what people want you to write or what you think might sell. Also, that not everyone will like what you write – you can’t please everyone.

If someone wrote a book about your life, what would the title be

Haha well funnily enough I have pinched it for my work in progress at the moment; Miss Pooshoe. Its my nickname and is as a result of a series of unfortunate incidents!

 

 

Now here’s my ten questions:

What book have you read that effected you the most?

What do you do  to relax?

Do you listen to music whilst reading/writing – if so – what type of music?

Which person has inspired you the most in life and why?

What is your favourite season of the year?

If you could spend a day in the life of someone else, who would it be and why?

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

If a film was made of your life, what would it be called and why?

I love thinking of names for character’s in my books. What are your favourite male and female names and why?

And finally …are you a coffee or tea drinker?

I now nominate

Michelle Betham

Kerry Richardson What To Write

A Fabulous Mom’s Guide

A Mummysview

Fresh Pot Of  Tea

PurpleBooky

Lee-Ann Graff-Vinson – Writing Commando

Love Missuswolf xxx

Comments

  1. Dear Gemma,

    Wow, I loved your post and the way you answered all of these questions. Congrats on your nomination and also a big thank you to Gina Adams for also nominating me as well, I hope you will stop in! Great answers Gemma!

    Syl Stein

  2. Great interview! I loved every-bit of it, and could feel my smile growing as read on. Thank you for sharing!
    Sass 🙂

  3. Neat interview. I love your answers.

Trackbacks

  1. […] lovely blog award, The Reader Appreciation Award, from one of them, the lovely Missuswolf who hosts Missuswolf’s Storyland, a fabulous blog dedicated to her love of literature and her own amazing writing skills. If you do […]

Leave a Reply

