Galaxy Quick Reads – The Little One – Lynda La Plante

TUESDAY 22nd MAY 2012

Woah – what is that yellow thing in the sky???

It is fab to finally see some sunshine and even fabber for it to get into double degree figures, never mind tipping the 20 degree scale! Woohoo! It instantly puts you in a better mood.

Even at work.

Today, due to some rearrangements regarding a meeting, it meant I had an earlier lunch than usual. Luckily for me I had already snaffled a bacon and egg sarnie that saw me through so I was spoilt for choice on what to do on my lunch break.

Taking advantage of the glorious weather, I was planning on going for a walk – until my colleague magically produced a ‘Galaxy Quick Read’ ( a campaign launched in March by Galaxy promoting Quick read books for people to discover the pleasures and benefits from reading) from her bag.

Brand new as well – I feel so privileged (and I LOVE a brand new book, ummm it’s like a whole bar of, well, Galaxy to myself!)

Not only was it a Brand New Book and a Quick Read – throw into the mix a Lovely Lynda La Plante Little One and hey! you have yourself a nice little treat.

So I sat and mused through a few chapters in the courtyard at work in the sun, not being able to put the book down.

The story is of a lady called Barbara who is a bit depressed to say the least at the moment being newly single and having lost her job.

She moves in with her friends Alan and Kevin and, not one for missing an opportunity, manages to invite herself to a birthday bash being held for Margaret Reynolds; an old work colleague (not to mention former Soapstar) friend of Alan’s. I don’t want to give too much away – all I will say is that Barbara ends up staying at Margaret’s Manor House and a chain of events leads to a chilling conclusion.

A fab little read – I perched myself in the garden straight after work to finish this little gem.

Thoroughly enjoyable, I loved the storyline, the idea behind the characters – especially revolving around Margaret’s background. Well thought out and an interesting concept.

I got the same fix from reading this as I get from eating a WHOLE bar of Galaxy. To myself. Yum.

Love Missuswolf xxx

Leave a Reply

