In The Shadow of Death – Jeremy P Bowen

SUNDAY 01st APRIL 2012

Good Afternoon and Happy April Fools Day!

After returning back on shift today, I would like to bring you all up to date with what I read on my last set of Rest Days; In The Shadow of Death by Jeremy P Bowen.

The book is well written and the idea and concept behind it is a clever one.

The opening scenes tease the reader with such curiosity, the first Chapter opening with such intrigue as it sets the scene of a man who seems to have no memory and a huntsman by the name of Ted.

Spring forward a few pages and you are introduced to young Kera in the most harrowing scenes imaginable; my heart was pounding in fear as well as anticipation for her to bravely battle for survival. 

At this point in the book I was frightened; I was experiencing the terror and the turmoil of the characters and I was genuinely scared to read on for fear of what else I may find. My thoughts at first were that it wasn’t my usual type of read, however , this book left me wanting more –  and certainly did not disappoint. I am pleased that I am broadening my reading horizons – I get to experience different author’s work and besides, if I did not, I would miss out on beauties like this.

It is well written in that the descriptions, the dialogue, the action propels the book into life and makes you experience every step of the way with these characters, I could imagine this book being made into a film.

I love how the storyline unfolds and cleverly intertwines, the conclusion briefly satisfying a reading craving yet leaving you hungry for more…which is a delight as this is the first book in a series; the second installment is titled The Ghosts of the Arad.

You can purchase In the Shadow of Death here and you can also follow the author on Twitter @Ginner_B.

I highly recommend this be added to your ‘To read’ list.

Love Missuswolf xxx

Leave a Reply

