Geek Club – Term Two – Lesson Four

WEDNESDAY 12th OCTOBER 2011

(Yep – the picture – I was bored and dressed up a little bit as Lottie!)

At the beginning of the lesson, I was handed some written feedback from the teacher relating to Lottie Bonner. It was really good and the teacher liked how I had chosen the black comedy route. However (and I had braced myself for this tut tut naughty tap on bum moment) I used a well known cliché – ‘The icing on the Cake’. I could kick myself as I did actually pick up on that before I handed in and even googled clichés’ and metaphors but then ran out of time and just left it as it is. As a writer, it is our jobs to come up with better ‘clichés’ if you like. 

TOPIC

Each classmate took it in turn to read out their version of ‘Modern Shakespeare’. We managed to fit everyone in this week and there were some thoroughly enjoyable stories amongst them.

I wasn’t very confident with mine as I had spent all day Sunday with writers block and then all of Tuesday afternoon with words tumbling out, then fumbling them around into some context. It did receive some fairly positive feedback, but I got more of a direction of where to go with the story, which I really appreciated.

Ideas:

* Keep the father alive and have him pushing Cal into the Police Force, then you have the pull aspect of his friends – creating more tension

* Take a route that causes the character the most problems. Consider that Cal goes to a job as a Police Officer involving Rhys and doesn’t arrest him. Follow both characters as they move up the ladders in their Police and Criminal careers then have it come to a head too late. Cal’s colleagues could question his authoritative position and why he hadn’t done anything about Rhys in the first place.

This is what it’s all about, stories that are born from little ideas created as part of our homework.

WHAT I HAVE LEARNT TODAY

* At times, you can take the beginning off a story and find that it is not needed, you can start the story further along and cut out unnecessary words.

* Rhyming couplets (reminder) – two lines rhyme at the end

* Tell the story in the style of the unreliable narrator – telling us the story but lying to us/withholding details. For example, discussing the disappearance of a character however the narrator has been involved in the disappearance, such as murdering them the night before – ooooooh!

BOOKS TO READ

* Although I read some of King Lear for GCSE English and bit of Othello at the start of A Levels (which I dropped out of – a bit gutted I did now) – we have been advised that if we want to read any Shakespeare that an easy one to start with is Macbeth.

HOMEWORK

For our homework this week, we were issued with a sheet of paper that has the following on:

* A glass in a bar

* A plate in a restaurant

* A repossessed home

* A gun

* A stolen Passport

* A second hand book, over 100 years old

* The bike stolen from Cassius Clay/Muhammed Ali

From the above, I must:

* Pick one object

* Take us through three characters who have been involved in that object i.e three different persons in a bar who have drank out the same glass over the course of the night

* Provide a plot outline

*A one page summary of a longer piece

* Bulletpoints to discuss

* Write as ambitiously as you want

I am tres excited over this one Littlewolves!!

Love Missuswolf xx

Leave a Reply

