Clean Cut – Lynda La Plante

THURSDAY 22ND SEPTEMBER 2011

Well Littlewolves, I have moved onto yet another Thriller writer; Lynda La Plant, following another recommendation.

I have only managed a couple of pages this afternoon but I intend to get stuck in when I cosy up into bed tonight. I love opening a new book and waiting to see how it all unfolds!

UPDATE WEDNESDAY 28TH SEPTEMBER 2011

I am half way through this novel and I am enjoying it. As opposed to the James Patterson and Patricia Cornwell I have recently read, it’s based in England and although it is about murder and awful offenders, I can relate to it more as I can actually visualise  the Police Detective Characters as well as the scenarios i.e the setting up of Major Incident Rooms around the  police stations. Having worked in an administrative role near this type of environment makes this book ever more realistic.

The main character’s strength captures me. DI Travis not only has gruesome murders to contend with, she has a rollercoaster of a personal life to try to run parallel with her work. Thanks to the lovely late Indian Summer and the fact I am night shift tonight, I managed to get a good hours read in the glorious sun this afternoon (makes the book seem less scary whilst read under a bright blue sky). I hope to read a little more this evening during any ‘Q’ times (will not mention the word for fear of jinxing myself)

WEDNESDAY 05th OCTOBER 2011

I finished reading this book last night after attending Lesson three of Geek Club. I thoroughly enjoyed it; it kept me intrigued all the way through albeit at times I did struggle keeping up with the storyline as there was a few characters involved that all linked together. Not to fear though, the author handled this brilliantly by providing a recap several times towards the end as part of the wrapping up of the investigation. Very clever and an interesting storyline.

Love Missuswolf xx

Leave a Reply

