One Day In May

WEE SMALL HOURS AUG 31ST AUGUST 2011

I have gone for another bit of chick-lit this time.

I started reading this on my first break on night shift last night. First impressions?? I love the articulation of the sentances (if that makes sense??) What the characters are doing is described so vividly whilst, at the same time, it manages to give the reader an idea of what the characters of the two females are like within the first few paragraphs, which I believe is a clever little tool.

I am intrigued already….

WEE SMALL HOURS 9TH SEPTEMBER 2011

Now I know this looks like I don’t do anything on night shift but read, which I can assure you is far from the truth. I am very busy in the job that I do and some nights I don’t get a chance to read at all. Therefore, when I can(I will not jinx it by using the Q word as I am there again tonight), I grab snippets of downtime to sit and read.

CHAPTERS 4-10

This book is well written, I love how it starts with the present time, then goes back to tell the story of how the main character got to where she was today. These Chapters have particularly impressed me as they are very topical; politics and the war in Sarajevo. It is cleverly done, topics that I would not necessarily choose to read on are woven cleverly into a Chick Lit story and, although you do pick up on the characters raw emotion that she experiences during these times, it is  done in a wonderfully warm way. Particularly the war part; compellingly written and I felt such compassion for the character.

I then love how it flicks to present day again, tells that story and then slips back into the past to fill in the pieces of the jigsaw puzzle that are touched upon in the present story.

I am hooked….

MORNING OF SEPTEMBER 13TH

Well, after spending my days off with my nose well and truly stuck in this book; from snug on the sofa with cushions and a wrap whilst this Horrendous Hurricane weather whirls around outside, to the confines of my comfy bed this morning – a nice and perfect place that brought me to the finale of this story.

This book has surprised me in more ways than one; although I keep giving it a ‘Chick Lit’ reference, it wasn’t as quite light a reading as I thought – and I mean this is an extremely positive way. The journey that you follow of the main character, you really do feel every bump and turn along the way – and some events took me by surprise. I will not spoil the book for future readers, but i did not expect the ending, nor the channel that the writer takes you down.

I applaud the author, this book has taught me what makes a good story in numerous ways; the way it is written, the subjects it features and the way it is all woven together to produce a warm, feel good book.

A high recommendation.

Love Missuswolf xx

Leave a Reply

